If I Break series by Portia Moore

Original Posting, March 18, 2015

Well, if there is anything that I can say, in one word- that would be WOW.  Or AMAZING.  Or BRILLIANT.

If you have been keeping up with the books I read you can tell, as my boyfriend says, I read the same story every time.  I love step-siblings, I love roommates, I love college romance.  Basically anything that is completely ridiculous and perfect and would never happen in real life.  I like to pretend I’m in the book for a bit and forget that my college experience was less than exciting.  Or I have a crazy dramatic love story.  Though, in real life I quite prefer my drama free, wonderful, handsome boyfriend.

ANYWAYS

This story takes place in Chicago for the most part, and some other little towns in the area.  I’m not very familiar with anything there so I could very well be talking out of my ass.

Either way, Lauren is from a small town, going to school and working in a popular club in Chicago.  Everything starts out normal according to every other book I read.  She runs into an amazingly sexy, brooding, possessive man and they immediately fall in love.  Cal is handsome enough to distract her from her hum drum life and they begin this insane twisted romance.  When Cal and Lauren were just dating, his unexplained disappearances were fun and not nearly as frustrating as they are now that they are married.  Multiple times Lauren tries to leave him, which in turn drives him crazy and they end up lustfully hashing it out.  This was their cycle until the day he tells her he has to leave, and that he isn’t coming back.

WHAT DOES THIS MEAN???

WHERE IS HE GOING???

IS HE IN THE MOB???

These are all the questions I had, and I’m sure you will as well.

The story goes between present day and flashbacks to Cal and Laurens life before they were married.  This only makes you fall in love with Cal even more-even though if I had a boyfriend like that I’m not sure I would put up with it.

I would really really like to give more information and talk about this book with others like me.  Unfortunately, the twist is so massive, so mysterious and completely not what could ever be expected I could never be the person to ruin that for someone.

If I Break 

Almost Broken 

Beautifully Broken 

Leave a Reply

