Wicked Games by Jessica Clare

Original post, August 8, 2013

I think amazon is tracking my searches, because I am in love with the Obsidian novels. Somehow, Wicked Games was in my suggested reading. Who’s on the cover? Pepe Toth, the boy on the cover of Obsidian.

Anyways, that has nothing to do with the book, just an observation of amazon stalking me.

This book being free almost made me peg it for not being good before I started it. That tends to be a common theme with free books.

To my surprise it was pretty fantastic. I have never read a book like this before ever. It has a very survivor-esque feel to it.

Abby works for a magazine, and gets forced into being on a show called endurance island, or she loses her job. Once on the island there are an equal amount of men and women there. The men pick team mates in order of who had one the first challenge. Abby is picked last and paired up with ass-hole Dean.

They have the typical I hate you relationship that turns into lust that is just fantastic to read about.

What I like the most about this is how different it was. It was like being front row watching Survivor or Capture. The games and challenges are described well and everything is believable.

I would recommend this book! It’s free on the kindle store still I believe, and it’s fun to read if you do not like books that are too heavy.

An excerpt

“I threw down my brush, grabbed the closest pot of paint, and lobbed it over the table At my partner. I didn’t hear it connect, so I grabbed the next one, and the next one, and heard the satisfying thwacked as they hit Dean (I hoped)”

Leave a Reply

